Beard

I am usually seen sporting some sort of fuzzy growth around my chin.  I have never been particularly good at growing facial hair (my chin was a late bloomer), but over the past few years I have become accustomed to a patchy coating of fluff.

On December 31st 2013, before I set off on an expedition to get a little tipsy whilst bringing in the new year, I trimmed my beard back to a fine stubble (I can’t stand a fully naked chin).  This was in part to make myself look a bit more presentable, but primarily because I wish to see how much beard I can grow during the year of 2014.

During the entirety of 2014 (and possibly beyond, we shall see), I will not be shaving, or trimming my facial hair other than to remove unruly hairs.  I intend to remain presentable, although knowing me, I will end up looking like some sort of hobo, this is not an issue to me, nor should it be for anybody else.

We are now 4 days into 2014 and if I’m honest, my stubble hasn’t progressed much.  This does not deter me, good things come to those who wait.

The challenge has been set.
This is the year of the beard.
Hear my prayer.

OH POWERFUL AND MIGHTY BEARD GODS!

On this, the eve of a new year, I sacrifice my chin to you.

I pray to you with a promise of no shaving (except perhaps the trimming of unruly whiskers).

May you bless me with luxurious growth and the finest of bristles!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

