Inspector’s Diary Day 1: Arstotzkans

Arstotzka

Day 1: Tuesday November 23, 1982

Dear Diary,

Today I woke to sound of busy city of Grestin, is very different from hometown.  Streets are filled with more people than I have seen in one time.

I read free newspaper, The Truth of Arstotzka before leaving home.  City is proud to have new border control checkpoint opening after six long years. Some people are worried that Government cannot cope with security risks.  I shall prove them wrong.

Due to new opening day, instruction was to let only Arstotzkans pass through checkpoint.  Smiles on faces warmed my heart as I see them embrace family not seen in many years.

I have paid first rent today, is more than I expect but I will not complain, I am lucky to get new job and apartment.  I must use some savings to pay for food, but family is very happy with my work and know that more money will come soon.

GLORY TO ARSTOTZKA!

“Inspector’s Diary” is a literary play-through based on the video game Papers Please by Lucas Pope.  

Leave a Reply

