Homework Tuesday!

Don’t you hate it when you accidentally fall asleep in bed after work and wake up not knowing what time it is, panicking because you’re not sure if you’re late for work or early for work and then realising it’s seven thirty in the evening not the morning so you feel relieved but still not entirely sure that you haven’t missed something crucial?

That just happened to me.  I hate it when that happens.

Anyhoo.  Last week I decided that Tuesday was going to be homework day.  I’m going to post a task as homework, mainly for myself but also for you if you’d like to join in the fun, the results of which will be posted the following week with a new assignment.

I also mentioned that last week I would be mulling ideas and scribbling notes about what I’m going to write for NaNoWriMo.  If you’ve not heard of NaNoWriMo before it’s short for National Novel Writing Month.  Yup, I’m going to write a novel.  In a month.  The premise is simple, between 12:00 1st November and 11:59 30th November, participants aim to write a 50,000 word novel from scratch.  I’ll spare you all the gory details but if you’d like to read up about it you can do so at the NaNoWriMo website.

Over the past week I have indeed been pondering a storyline for my novel, I don’t have a name for the protagonist (or any other characters), nor am I sure exactly where the story will be set, these minor details will no doubt come out in the wash.  Here’s a very rough synopsis:

What would happen if you found a way to definitively prove the beliefs of religion?

In the dystopian steampunk world of [insert world name here], advances in science have led to the outlawing of all religions.  Those who still believe in their ideals have been forced into hiding, congregating in underground sects, avoiding the watchful gaze of law enforcement, suffering the fear of getting caught and facing the death penalty.

[Protagonist] a young thief discovers the key to proving the existence of four deities from what was once the most influential religion.  The discovery comes with a price however, and [Protagonist] must face many difficulties and uncover secrets in order to bring truth to the world.

As I said, it’s very rough, and it is certainly subject to change but at least I have something to work with.  I’ll be honest, I’m not expecting anything from attempting to write a novel in a month, if I don’t manage it I won’t be too fussed but if I do I’ll be amazed at myself.  We’ll just have to wait and see what happens, I’ll keep you posted.

So now we get to the homework part.  Over the course of this week I challenge myself (and you) to…

Create a character.  Give the character a backstory including things such as gender, race, social class, family, health, religion, special abilities.  Write about how they are currently, their age, appearance, fears, likes/dislikes and such like, be as detailed as possible.

I’m going to be creating my novel’s protagonist, I’ll even give them a name!  Have a crack yourself, it doesn’t have to be a character for any particular story (maybe an idea for a story will come from the character), you could create someone designed to be loved by the reader, or hated, good or evil, you could even give life to an inanimate object.  Have fun with it and let me know what you come up with by next Tuesday.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

