Creative Writing Course: Homework 4

As with every other Wednesday for the past 5 weeks, this is the time I get home from my Creative Writing Course and reveal to the world my results for last week’s homework assignment.

I’ll cut the babble and just get straight into it.  Last week we were asked to write a love letter to either the place you live, or a piece of furniture.  I chose to write to a piece of furniture, and for those that know me it’d be pretty obvious which piece of furniture would win my affection.

To my dearest Bed,

As I write this letter to you I feel empty and alone, my day was spent longing for your warm embrace.  As I left our bedroom this morning for work I took one last glance in your direction, you were peaceful, and oh so inviting, all I wanted was to curl up with you once more.  I was pained as I stepped through the doorway, leaving behind those beautifully plump pillows, my thoughts were swamped with images of your Swedish elegance, duvet draped seductively across your perfect frame.  From head to foot your beauty truly exceeds the finest of Queens.

My love, I cannot express my feelings for you enough, you comfort me in times of need, the warmth you bring me deters the coldest of winters, every hour I’m with you I feel refreshed, energised once again.  Without you my life would be a waking nightmare.

I know that there are times we are apart, for me they are hard, cold and uncomforting, but suffering through them only makes me realise how strong our connection is.  A connection I am confident will become stronger with every night spent together.

It makes me happy that our lives are spent together and I thank you for the love you offer, for the support you give me when I am weary, and for taking me to places one can only dream of.

Yours forever,

Tom

xxx

I had so much fun writing this, I was surprised at how entertaining it was to think of all the ways I could show affection for an inanimate object, to the point that I’m worried about how fond I am of my bed.  I’ve never written a love letter before, to a person or otherwise so I was a tad skeptical when I set out, and had no idea where or how to start.  Thankfully for me there’s a whole Wikihow page about writing one from which I could take some advice.

Normally at this point I’d share with you the next week’s assignment, but sadly there isn’t one.  This week was the final session of the course, this means that technically I don’t have anything to write, but at the same time I’ve got everything to write.  I’ve been equipped with many sheets of paper with ideas and inspirations covering them from which I should be able to conjure something up, and of course I could just think up something of my own.

I know that as of next week Wednesday will be the evening I go climbing (I’ve been out of action for months with an injured ankle) so I might shift homework night to Tuesdays.  On Tuesday evenings I’ll set myself (and you if you’d care to join me) a homework assignment for the week, I will of course be trying to write more than just one thing a week but I know what I can be like (lazy) so one definite task per week would be a good start for me.

That will start next week, this week however, to keep myself busy I will be trying to figure out a vague synopsis for a novel to write in preparation for #NaNoWriMo.  But more on that in the future…

Leave a Reply

