And so it begins: In Prague

So I’ve been in Prague for the past couple of days, not doing anything especially exciting; just wandering around taking some photos (More on that in the next few days) and having some time off work.

I’m on my own. There’s no special someone that I’ve got to come along and keep me company and I seem to be too old to be invited on family holidays with my parents. Either that or they don’t like me anymore.

So what does a 27 year old single guy do on holiday in a foreign country? Not a lot in my case. I’m shy, introvert and paranoid so apart from spending a few hours walking around taking photos I’ve been holed up in my hotel room, perusing the internet on my Nexus 7. Some might tell me to go and do something more exciting and meet people and that’s an understandable reaction. I don’t feel comfortable doing that on my own so instead, I do what I do feel comfortable with.

I’m a subscriber and fan of Geek & Sundry; a YouTube channel from Felicia Day and Kim Evey, and with plenty of time to kill this evening I found myself watching the Story Board Hangout. The latest video, hosted by Patrick Rothfuss, features Jenny Lawson, John Scalzi and Wil Wheaton talking about life online, maintaining a blog, why they do it and what keeps them going. Give it a watch here:

I’ve wanted to maintain a blog for a while and have made a few failed attempts trying to write about specific themes. My latest attempt (this blog) is inspired by that Hangout. I’m going for a more “I’ll write what I want and fuck you if you don’t like it” approach with this one. I’m sure you’ll discover that if you stick around to read more.

So before I kick off on this written exploration of my world I’d like to say a massive thank you to everyone at Geek & Sundry for creating and maintaining great content. Everyone should go and subscribe to Geek & Sundry by clicking HERE

Leave a Reply

